Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

star trek

Nat thought – no surprises here, except you may enjoy it more than you thought you would.

I’m not a Trekkie. But I have been forced to watch the odd episode of Generations. Somehow I didn’t die of boredom. In fact, I kind of enjoyed them. Don’t tell my Dad. But that hardly makes me an expert. So I won’t be able to discuss the bazillion references in this latest reboot by JJ Abrams that no doubt had long time fans pooping their pants in excitement. On the plus side, I won’t be able to moan about all the bits they left out or changed either.

You don’t need to be a Trekkie to enjoy Into Darkness. But if you’ve never seen anything Star Trek related before, you may want to check out Abrams’ Star Trek reboot from 2009 for a bit of back story. It’s not essential though. There’s nothing too confusing going on, except maybe why we have to see ‘Dr’ Alice Eve in her underwear.

movies_star-trek-into-darkness

Oh OK. I see. Marketing…

Actually, I don’t think they needed to resort to sex to get the twenty-something demographic to watch. I think that audience would already be drawn to it by the sight of all those block-coloured, tight tops.

startrekID_450

But maybe they wouldn’t quite remember where they’d seen that before…

star trek 2

If you take away the Star Trek aspect, Into Darkness is pretty much action movie plot 101. There’s goodies and baddies, the goody is ‘dangerously’ confident, the baddies show us why they’re bad, the hero stuffs up then spends the rest of the film trying to make things right. But will his big fat head get in the way? Will the baddies win? Well… I think we all know this is no The Usual Suspects. No crazy plot twist here. Well, maybe one involving Benedict Cumberbsome- bloody-name, but I’m not sure that’s still a secret anymore.

The opening sequence of Into Darkness reminded me of Star Wars (the good ones I mean). It had a kind of Han Solo and Luke running around the Ewok forest feeling to it. And perhaps JJ did that on purpose, a little taster of what’s to come in a couple of years when he shows us his take on Star Wars 7, 8 and 9. If he does no worse than what he’s done here, I’ll be a satisfied customer.

As I said, three times now, no surprises. But there is decent work by all involved. Chris Pine is fine as the young, cocky (pun intended) Kirk. Zachary Quinto is scarily like Spock (or maybe it’s just the hair). Benedict Cumberland-Sausages does well as the baddy, and Karl Urban and Simon Pegg take turns providing comic relief. Zoe Saldana unfortunately gets lumped with  the only boring character on the whole ship. Oh well, maybe part 3 Zoe.

